Things I will NOT Miss About This Place

There are certain, really annoying things that I’m never gonna miss from here. Actually I can’t wait not to have to do/say them EVER again. Yes, because in every house there are some tips and tricks to survival that you have to share with your flatmates. But imagine having to change these flatmates every few days. Now Imagine also that they aren’t really your flatmates, but that you work for them instead. Nerves will crack up, trust me.

  • Explaining people almost every single day how to: a)turn the key to open the main doors (seriously guys, how old are you?!), b)open the balcony door (stupid German windows), c)turn on the oven (stupid German kitchens), d)get to the closest supermarket, e)sort the garbage
  • Having to be nice and smile to people who are a)rude, b)extremely boring (especially when I’m doing something else and they absolutely want to talk to me), c)just stupid, d)don’t really speak English
  • Having at least 2 or 3 times every week the conversation about how ridiculous the “Bad words around the World” poster is (the words are basically google translated and therefore stupid, if you know the language. People tend to think they are always the first ones to notice and need to inform me that the poster is wrong. You know, just in case…)
  • The person who sometimes plays aweful German music right out of my window around 2 am
  • Having to write my name on every single food I buy
  • Scheduling toilet/hair washing times
  • Folding sheets which are going to be unfolded ten minutes later
  • Cleaning bathrooms. Especially getting the hair out the drains
  • The following films: Knocked Up, What Happens in Vegas, Hitch, Hancock, Iron Man. I even used to like the first 2. But watching them about 50 times each was ENOUGH. We have something like fifty dvds, why do people always choose these ones?! Haha.
  • Collecting empty beer bottles and washing other people’s glasses all the time
  • People that come here without reading the description on the website and then complain about everything
  • Being supposed to have the small talk conversation with anyone (like: where are you from? where are you going? how long are you travelling for? what do you do? what did/are you studying in uni?). I hate that cuz that’s how people normally start conversations, but it bores me to death and they’re details I usually ask afterwards, when I know the person a little bit and actually care about knowing these things!

Ps: I’m leaving in 36 hours !!! :)

2 responses to this post.

  1. It sounds like you have it pretty rough but I’m happy for you that you will leave soon!

    p.s. a movie soon to be on that list I’m sure will be The Hangover. That movie is hilarious. But if you watch it too often in a short period I’m sure you will be over it.

    Reply

    • The problem is that I’ve been here for too long…but I’m also putting togetether a list of things I’ll definitely miss ;)

      It’s funny that you mention the Hangover :D I watched it just last week and laughed so hard I wanted to watch it again. So I did it a couple of days later and it was already enough! Ahah, I definitely see your point! but at least so far it’s only been 2 times and not 20 ;)

      Reply

Leave a comment